Marilyn Mazur’s Shamania performs in Podgorica

Marilyn Mazur's Shamania (by Hanne Hvattum)

We are proud to announce the concert of award winning percussionist and composer Marilyn Mazur from Denmark, on June 8th at the “Budo Tomovic” Cultural Information Center of Podgorica, at 8pm. She will present her new large ensemble, in which she gathered ten strong female Scandinavian musicians as well as a Norwegian dancer Tine Erica Aspaas. SHAMANIA project started when Copenhagen Jazz festival suggested Mazur to review her old music theater group Primi Band, from the 80’ies. Marilyn loved the idea of creating a new large group with some of fantastic female musicians of today, and to present very fresh version of the ideas from Primi: a ritual, organic, cacophonous, and wild-growing female community around primitive force, voices, rhythm, good energy, and movement. SHAMANIA had its first performance at the Copenhagen Jazz Festival 2015, and played several large festivals in Europe 2016 and 2017, including jazzahead!

SHAMANIA is a Danish-based orchestra and music theater with great musicians from Denmark, Sweden, and Norway. The project has received support from Danish Arts Council, and other organizations.
Shamania is recorded in May 2017, and plan to release an album later this year.
During her rich and successful career Marilyn Mazur has won numerous awards for her work, among which are: The Ben Webster Award (1983), “Jazzpar” (2001), and “Django D’Or – Legend of Jazz” (2006). In addition, she received the Wilhelm Hansen Award for her composition work – prize usually only awarded to composers in the field of classical music, as well as the international award for culture awarded by Telenor (2007), and the First International EuroCore – JTI Jazz Award. In earlier times of her career Marilyn Mazur has played in the groups and orchestras of jazz masters such as Jan Garbarek, Miles Davis, Gil Evans, and Wayne Shorter.

More about artist:

Members of Marilyn Mazur’s Shamania

Marilyn Mazur, percussion, composer/leader

Josefine Cronholm, vocals, percussion

Aud Hildegunn Øiseth, trumpet, goat horn

Liselotte Anker Larsen, saxophones

Lis Wessberg, trombone

Makiko Hirabayashi Nielsen, piano, keyboards

Ida Marie Gormsen, bass

Lisbeth Diers, precussion

Tine Erica Aspaas, dance & choreography

This entry was posted in Jazz. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *